Lynn from Aurora writes, “What's driving you crazy? I am seeing more cars on the road without the front license plate. This is a Colorado requirement?”
The short answer is yes, in Colorado the owner of the vehiclehas to put on a license plate in the front and back of a vehicle unless it is a motorcycle, autocycle, or street rod vehicle. The reason is that it is easier for police to identify the vehicle by having front and rear plates. It also helps in hit and run crashes when a bumper is left at the scene of the crash.
READ MORE: Read more traffic issues driving people crazy
The tolling authorities like E470 and CDOT’s HPTE also want vehicles to have front and rear plates as it is easier to identify the vehicle owner to collect tolls. Being caught without a front plate will earn the driver a $75 fine.
Denver7 traffic anchor Jayson Luber says he has been covering Denver-metro traffic since Ben-Hur was driving a chariot. (We believe the actual number is over 20 years.) He's obsessed with letting viewers know what's happening on their drive and the best way to avoid the problems that spring up. Follow him on Facebook,Twitter or Instagram or listen to his Driving You Crazy podcast oniTunes, Stitcher, Google Play, Podbean or YouTube.