Denver7 | Sports


Denver Outlaws win third MLL championship with 16-12 win over Dallas Rattlers

Posted at 9:05 PM, Aug 18, 2018
and last updated 2018-08-18 23:05:58-04

CHARLESTON, S.C. — The Denver Outlaws won their third Major League Lacrosse Championship with a 16-12 win over the Dallas Rattlers on Saturday in Charleston, S.C.

The win ties Denver for second all-time in Major League Lacrosse Championship wins and is the seventh championship win for a Pat Bowlen-owned franchise (Denver Outlaws, 3; Denver Broncos, 3; Colorado Crush, 1).

Attackman Matt Kavanagh was named Coca-Cola Championship MVP for his nine-point performance with four goals and five assists. Faceoff specialist Max Adler won 15-of-28 faceoffs and goalie Dillon Ward made 16 saves on 28 shots.

The Outlaws took a quick 3-0 lead and were up 5-4 at the end of the first quarter. Dallas opened up a 9-6 lead midway through the second quarter, but Denver ended the half on a 4-0 scoring run and took a 10-9 lead into halftime.

Outscoring Dallas 4-2 in the third quarter, Denver led 14-11 at the start of the closing stanza. The Outlaws defense locked the Rattlers down in the fourth quarter and allowed just one goal.