Denver7 | SportsBroncos


5 former Broncos named semifinalists for Pro Football Hall of Fame

Atwater, Dawkins, Lynch, Mecklenburg, Law named
Posted at 8:26 PM, Nov 21, 2017
and last updated 2017-11-21 22:26:23-05

DENVER – Five former Denver Broncos players are among the semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018.

The famed Broncos safeties—Steve Atwater, Brian Dawkins, and John Lynch—made the list of semifinalists, as did linebacker Karl Mecklenburg. Cornerback Ty Law, who played in seven games for the Broncos in the last season of his career, 2009, is also on the list.

They are among 27 semifinalists from pro football’s modern era – a list that was narrowed down from 108 initial nominees. The list of semifinalists will be cut to 15 in January before the final announcement is made the night before the Super Bowl, Feb. 4.

Atwater, Lynch and Mecklenburg are all members of the Broncos’ Ring of Fame, and all five who were named semifinalists this year were also semifinalists last year, along with Terrell Davis, who was inducted into the Hall of Fame this year.

This is Atwater’s seventh time being named a semifinalist; Dawkins’ second; Lynch’s sixth; and Mecklenburg’s seventh. Law, who spent most of his career with the New England Patriots, is on the list for the fourth time.

Among the other semifinalists for the 2018 class are Rams’ wide receivers Isaac Bruce and Torry Holt, running back Edgerrin James, former Cowboys’ and Dolphins’ coach Jimmy Johnson, linebacker Ray Lewis and wide receiver Randy Moss.