Five Douglas County schools are getting new resource officers this year

douglas county board of commisioners.jpeg
Posted at 4:01 PM, Jul 24, 2019

CASTLE ROCK, Colo. – New school resource officers will be assigned to five middle schools in Douglas County by the start of the school year, using money approved in the wake of the STEM School shooting, officials confirmed Wednesday.

Cresthill, Mountain Ridge, Ranch View, Rocky Heights and Sagewood – all in unincorporated Douglas County – are the middle schools that will be getting the new officers, Douglas County School District spokeswoman Paula Hans said.

The Douglas County commissioners this summer approved up to $3 million to hire as many as 16 extra school officers in the wake of the STEM School Highlands Ranch shooting on May 7. Kendrick Castillo, an 18-year-old senior at the school, was killed in the shooting.

All schools in Douglas County – both public and private – can use the money to pay for the officers through the Douglas County Sheriff's Office, as long as the schools cover half the cost of salaries.

School resource officers will also be assigned to Castle Rock Middle School and Cimarron Middle School but paid for by those cities.

Douglas County School District classes start Aug. 7.

County commissioners voted after the STEM School shooting to redirect a total of $10 million toward public school safety and possible additional mental health services for students and staff.