Aurora lifts ban on fireworks in city limits

Aurora lifts ban on fireworks in city limits
Posted at 1:08 PM, Jun 23, 2017
and last updated 2017-06-23 15:08:09-04

AURORA, Colo. – Residents in Aurora will be able to light off fireworks without breaking the law this year.

The Aurora City Council voted to lift the previous ban on the sale, possession and use of fireworks within city limits.

Under the new ordinance, anyone who is 16 or older can buy and set off fireworks between June 15 and July 4. Before or after that, they’re illegal.

The ordinance also limits permitted fireworks to those that don’t leave the ground, mirroring state law. Fireworks that fly through the air, such as bottle rockets and Roman candles, are illegal statewide.

Several other cities in the metro area continue to ban fireworks, including Denver, Boulder, Broomfield, Fort Collins, Golden, Littleton, Thornton and Wheat Ridge.

Check with your local police or fire department to find out if fireworks are permitted in your community. Restrictions can change depending on current conditions.