Fourth of July: Where you can and cannot use fireworks this year in Colorado

Posted at 7:43 PM, Jun 30, 2017
and last updated 2017-07-03 14:20:34-04

DENVER -- We are all fascinated by the light show that comes from watching fireworks explode, and while you can buy them across Colorado, you won't be able to use them in several communities.

Denver, Fort Collins and Boulder are among the cities where all fireworks are illegal. Those bans include sparklers.

State law allows stands to sell fireworks that don't leave the ground or explode. These "permissible" fireworks include fountains, ground spinners, sparklers, smoke bombs, snakes and glow worms.

While you can purchase these fireworks, you may not be able to use them where you live. Many towns and cities ban any use within city limits and often counties will restrict the use. Below, you'll find a list* of where fireworks are allowed or banned. 

Fireworks are banned in the following communities:

  • Denver
  • Commerce City
  • Boulder (city and open space)
  • Broomfield (only sparklers permitted)
  • Edgewater
  • Englewood
  • Fort Collins
  • Glendale
  • Golden
  • Greenwood Village
  • Lafayette
  • Lakewood
  • Littleton
  • Louisville
  • Morrison
  • Northglenn
  • Sheridan
  • Thornton
  • Wheat Ridge
  • Vail
  • Unincorporated Douglas County (currently under Stage 1 fire restrictions)
  • U.S. Forest Service lands

Fireworks are allowed in the following communities:

  • Aurora
  • Brighton
  • Castle Rock - (Note: City currently under Stage 1 fire ban, no fireworks allowed)
  • Castle Pines
  • Centennial
  • Greeley
  • Larkspur
  • Lone Tree
  • Loveland 
  • Frederick
  • Firestone
  • Parker - (Note: City currently under Stage 1 fire ban, no fireworks allowed)
  • Unincorporated Jefferson County
  • Unincorporated Larimer County
  • Westminster (only between midnight on Sunday, July 2, to noon on Tuesday, July 4)

*This is not a complete list. Check with your local police department before using fireworks. Bans and restrictions may be put in place as weather conditions change.

It is illegal across Colorado to use fireworks which fly through the air, explode or fragment. These fireworks include cherry bombs, bottle rockets, M-80's and Roman candles.

Fines for illegal fireworks use can range from $100 to  $2,650 depending on the jurisdiction.


Find all the Fourth of July firework shows in Colorado for 2017

These are the Fourth of July celebrations happening across Colorado