EntertainmentThe Oscars


Academy Awards: Which movies won an Oscar

Posted at 6:19 PM, Mar 04, 2018

The 90th Academy Awards were held Sunday.

The following is a list of nominees with the winners indicted in bold. 

Photos: Celebrities walk the red carpet at the 2018 Oscars

Best Picture

  • "Call Me by Your Name"
  • "Darkest Hour"
  • "Dunkirk"
  • "Get Out"
  • "Lady Bird"
  • "Phantom Thread"
  • "The Post" 
  • "The Shape of Water"
  • "Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri"

Best Actor in a Leading Role

  • Timothée Chalamet, "Call Me by Your Name"
  • Daniel Day-Lewis, "Phantom Thread"
  • Daniel Kaluuya, "Get Out"
  • Gary Oldman, "Darkest Hour"
  • Denzel Washington, "Roman J. Israel, Esq."

Best Actress in a Leading Role

  • Sally Hawkins, "The Shape of Water"
  • Frances McDormand, "Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri"
  • Margot Robbie, "I, Tonya"
  • Saoirse Ronan, "Lady Bird"
  • Meryl Streep, "The Post"


  • "Dunkirk", Christopher Nolan
  • "Get Out",  Jordan Peele
  • "Lady Bird",  Greta Gerwig
  • "Phantom Thread",  Paul Thomas Anderson
  • "The Shape of Water",  Guillermo del Toro

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Willem Dafoe, "The Florida Project"
  • Woody Harrelson,  "Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri"
  • Richard Jenkins, "The Shape of Water"
  • Christopher Plummer, "All the Money in the World"
  • Sam Rockwell, "Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri" 

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Mary J. Blige,  "Mudbound"
  • Allison Janney, "I, Tonya"
  • Lesley Manville, "Phantom Thread"
  • Laurie Metcalf, "Lady Bird"
  • Octavia Spencer, "The Shape of Water"

Production Design

  • "Beauty and the Beast", production Design: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decoration: Katie Spencer
  • "Blade Runner 2049", production Design: Dennis Gassner; Set Decoration: Alessandra Querzola
  • "Darkest Hour", production Design: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decoration: Katie Spencer
  • "Dunkirk", production Design: Nathan Crowley; Set Decoration: Gary Fettis
  • "The Shape of Water", production Design: Paul Denham Austerberry; Set Decoration: Shane Vieau and Jeff Melvin

Film Editing

  • "Baby Driver",  Paul Machliss and Jonathan Amos
  • "Dunkirk", Lee Smith
  • "I, Tonya", Tatiana S. Riegel
  • "The Shape of Water", Sidney Wolinsky
  • "Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri", Jon Gregory

 Best documentary short subject

  • "Edith+Eddie", Laura Checkoway and Thomas Lee Wright
  • "Heaven Is a Traffic Jam on the 405", Frank Stiefel
  • "Heroin(e)", Elaine McMillion Sheldon and Kerrin Sheldon
  • "Knife Skills", Thomas Lennon
  • "Traffic Stop", Kate Davis and David Heilbroner

Visual Effects

  • "Blade Runner 2049", John Nelson, Gerd Nefzer, Paul Lambert and Richard R. Hoover
  • "Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2", Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Jonathan Fawkner and Dan Sudick
  • "Kong: Skull Island", Stephen Rosenbaum, Jeff White, Scott Benza and Mike Meinardus
  • "Star Wars: The Last Jedi", Ben Morris, Mike Mulholland, Neal Scanlan and Chris Corbould
  • "War for the Planet of the Apes", Joe Letteri, Daniel Barrett, Dan Lemmon and Joel Whist

 Original Score

  • "Dunkirk", Hans Zimmer
  • "Phantom Thread", Jonny Greenwood
  • "The Shape of Water", Alexandre Desplat
  • "Star Wars: The Last Jedi", John Williams
  • "Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri", Carter Burwell

Original Song

  • "Mighty River", "Mudbound"
  • "Mystery Of Love", "Call Me by Your Name"
  • "Remember Me", "Coco" 
  • "Stand Up For Something", "Marshall"
  • "This Is Me", "The Greatest Showman"


  • "Blade Runner 2049", Roger A. Deakins
  • "Darkest Hour", Bruno Delbonnel
  • "Dunkirk", Hoyte van Hoytema
  • "Mudbound", Rachel Morrison
  • "The Shape of Water", Dan Laustsen 

Foreign language film

  • "A Fantastic Woman", Chile
  • "The Insult", Lebanon
  • "Loveless", Russia
  • "On Body and Soul", Hungary
  • "The Square", Sweden

Achievement in makeup and hairstyling

  • "Darkest Hour", Kazuhiro Tsuji, David Malinowski and Lucy Sibbick
  • "Victoria & Abdul", Daniel Phillips and Lou Sheppard
  • "Wonder", Arjen Tuiten

Costume design

  • "Beauty and the Beast", Jacqueline Durran
  • "Darkest Hour", Jacqueline Durran
  • "Phantom Thread", Mark Bridges
  • "The Shape of Water", Luis Sequeira
  • "Victoria & Abdul", Consolata Boyle

Best Documentary Feature

  • "Abacus: Small Enough to Jail" 
  • "Faces Places"
  • "Icarus"
  • "Last Men in Aleppo"
  • "Strong Island"

Sound Editing

  • "Baby Driver", Julian Slater
  • "Blade Runner 2049",  Mark Mangini and Theo Green
  • "Dunkirk", Richard King and Alex Gibson
  • "The Shape of Water", Nathan Robitaille and Nelson Ferreira
  • "Star Wars: The Last Jedi", Matthew Wood and Ren Klyce 

Sound Mixing

  • "Baby Driver", Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin and Mary H. Ellis
  • "Blade Runner 2049", Ron Bartlett, Doug Hemphill and Mac Ruth
  • "Dunkirk", Mark Weingarten, Gregg Landaker and Gary A. Rizzo
  • "The Shape of Water", Christian Cooke, Brad Zoern and Glen Gauthier
  • "Star Wars: The Last Jedi", David Parker, Michael Semanick, Ren Klyce and Stuart Wilson

Adapted Screenplay

  • "Call Me by Your Name", Screenplay by James Ivory
  • "The Disaster Artist", Screenplay by Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber
  • "Logan", Screenplay by Scott Frank & James Mangold and Michael Green; Story by James Mangold
  • "Molly's Game", Written for the screen by Aaron Sorkin
  • "Mudbound", Screenplay by Virgil Williams and Dee Rees

Original Screenplay

  • "The Big Sick", written by Emily V. Gordon & Kumail Nanjiani
  • "Get Out", written by Jordan Peele
  • "Lady Bird", written by Greta Gerwig
  • "The Shape of Water", screenplay by Guillermo del Toro & Vanessa Taylor; story by Guillermo del Toro
  • "Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri", written by Martin McDonagh

 Best Animated Feature Film

  • "The Boss Baby" 
  • "The Breadwinner"
  • "Coco"
  • "Ferdinand" 
  • "Loving Vincent"

Animated Short

  • "Dear Basketball", Glen Keane and Kobe Bryant
  • "Garden Party", Victor Caire and Gabriel Grapperon
  • "Lou", Dave Mullins and Dana Murray
  • "Negative Space", Max Porter and Ru Kuwahata
  • "Revolting Rhymes", Jakob Schuh and Jan Lachauer

Live Action Short Film

  • "DeKalb Elementary", Reed Van Dyk
  • "The Eleven O'Clock", Derin Seale and Josh Lawson
  • "My Nephew Emmett", Kevin Wilson, Jr.
  • "The Silent Child", Chris Overton and Rachel Shenton
  • "Watu Wote/All of Us", Katja Benrath and Tobias Rosen